Skip to Content

Andean Trade Preference Act (ATPA)

The Andean Trade Preference Act (ATPA) was enacted in December 1991, to help four Andean countries (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru) in their fight against drug production and trafficking by expanding their economic alternatives.

The Andean Trade Promotion and Drug Eradication Act (ATPDEA), enacted on August 6, 2002, renewed and amended the ATPA to provide duty-free treatment for certain products previously excluded under the ATPA.  The benefits are subject to the countries meeting the program's eligibility criteria.

Under the Reports tab below are the reports USTR has submitted to Congress every two years regarding the operation of the program.  The latest report was submitted on April 30, 2009.  The reports describe the major features of the program, its operation during the reporting period and the performance of the beneficiary countries with respect to the program's eligibility criteria.