Advisory Committees

The advisory committee system, established by the U.S. Congress in 1974, was created to ensure that U.S. trade policy and trade negotiating objectives adequately reflect U.S. public and private sector interests. The advisory committee system consists of 26 advisory committees, with a total membership of approximately 700 citizen advisors.

USTR's Office of Intergovernmental Affairs & Engagement (IAPE) manages the advisory committee, in cooperation with other agencies, including the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, and Labor. IAPE is also designated as the state coordinator for the World Trade Organization and the North American Free Trade Agreement, and provides outreach to official state points of contact, governors, legislatures, and associations on all trade issues of interest to states.

IAPE frequently speaks with outside groups in order to build support for a robust trade agenda and creates materials for public distribution.

Advisory Committees

Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations (ACTPN)

Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee (APAC)

Agricultural Technical Advisory Committees for Trade (ATAC)

Industry Trade Advisory Committees (ITAC)

Intergovernmental Policy Advisory Committee (IGPAC)

Labor Advisory Committee (LAC)

Seasonal and Perishable Agricultural Products Advisory Committee

Trade Advisory Committee on Africa (TACA)

Trade and Environment Policy Advisory Committee (TEPAC)